Toni Braxton – The Heat [iTunes Plus AAC M4A] (1999)

Toni Braxton - The HeatToni Braxton – The Heat [iTunes Plus AAC M4A] (1999)
Artist: Toni Braxton
Album: The Heat
Quality: iTunes Plus AAC M4A 256 Kbps
Genres: R&B/Soul, Music, Rock, Electronic, Dance, Contemporary R&B, Pop, Adult Contemporary
Released: Apr 26, 1999
℗ 2000 LaFace Records LLC

Album Review
Toni Braxton went through a lot in the years separating her star-making Toni Braxton and her 2000 comeback The Heat. Yes, she became a star, but she also went through a painful bankruptcy that delayed her sequel for years. Fortunately, you wouldn’t be able to tell that there was so much behind-the-scenes drama from The Heat — it’s a confident, assured, sexy effort that reaffirms Braxton’s status as one of the finest contemporary mainstream soul singers. She may not be as street-smart as Mary J. Blige, nor does she push the boundaries of the genre the way TLC does, but she has a full, rich voice that instantly lends her songs a sense of maturity and sensuality, especially since she never, ever oversings or misjudges her material. And, while that material can occasionally be a little generic, much of The Heat is built on solid ballads and smoldering, mid-tempo dance numbers. Producers as diverse as Babyface, Rodney Jerkins, Daryl Simmons, Teddy Bishop, and David Foster are responsible for various tracks on the album, which is typical for a big-budget, superstar release like this, but rarely are the tracks quite as consistent and cohesive as they are here. The skittering beats of “He Wasn’t Man Enough” and “Gimme Some” are every bit as effective as the simmering title track or ballads “I’m Still Breathing” and “Spanish Guitar” — or “Just Be a Man About It,” an instant classic telephone breakup song, with Dr. Dre playing the wayward lover breaking the news to Ms. Braxton. True, The Heat slightly runs out of momentum toward the end, but there aren’t many dull spots on the record — it’s all stylish, sultry, seductive, appealing urban contemporary soul that confirms Braxton’s prodigious talents.

Track List
1 He Wasn’t Man Enough
2 The Heat
3 Spanish Guitar
4 Just Be a Man About It
5 Gimme Some
6 I’m Still Breathing
7 Fairy Tale
8 The Art of Love
9 Speaking In Tongues
10 Maybe
11 You’ve Been Wrong
12 Never Just for a Ring

BUY the CD on Amazon
Download Links: Uploaded | Bitshare | Zippyshare | Mirrors

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

**Please wait for 5 seconds and click Skip Ads to go to the D/L link. Thanks!

Sponsored link(s)

More from my site